Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Paul Langdon Honored as the Thirtieth Grogg Award Winner

                              Photos By BRADLEY J. RAYFORD of the Forum 

Paul Langdon winner of the 2012 Grogg Award. 

By JEFF SILER of KCFV and the Forum
This year marked the thirtieth anniversary for the Phillip H. Grogg Memorial Award.
     Phillip Grogg was a former student manager of the 89.5 The Wave and in the Fall of 1982 his life was tragically cut short when he was involved in a car accident. His mother, Norma, then took Phillip’s un-cashed paychecks and donated them to the station in hopes that the station would acquire some form of new equipment. The president of the college at the time, Dr. David Harris, had other plans as he decided to start this award that recognizes the student who best exemplifies leadership and skills in the field of broadcasting. Since then students have been honored every year and this year could be considered one of the tighter races. 
     Former winner Barry Yoakem summed it up when he stated “You know what it means, you know how important it is, but it really doesn’t hit you till the nomination”.  
This years nominees exhibited these skills and it came down to Mike Cave, Paul Langdon, and Ben Vogelsang.
     Vogelsang had this to say about himself and the other nominees “We all deserve this. We all have worked our butts off to get here and I don’t feel like I’ve done as much as the other nominees and I think we all have that feeling. We all will be surprised by who wins.” 
                                                                                         “It’s a great honor” Langdon Added.
Heather Perez winner of the Diana Kirby Award
     Along with the Grogg Award, for the last five years the Station has paid tribute to our late Station Manager, Diana Kirby, with an award that honors the student who has the best attitude and helps out in the community in ways that best pay tribute to Diana’s spirit and this years winner was Heather Perez. 
     Also on Friday May 4th Mike Cave was honored by St Louis Community College’s Student Government Association as Broadcaster of the Year.
     As for the Grogg Award, this year Paul Langdon, (on-air personality Mose), received the award and walked up at a loss for words as he thanked all the people who helped him get to where he is. With this win Paul was put into a class of his own as the thirtieth winner of the Phillip H. Grogg Memorial Award.

Left to right: KCFV Station Manager, Tim Gorry, Mike Cave, Paul Langdon, Ben Vogelsang and Broadcasting Program Director, Steve Bai.

Congratulations to all the honorees, and to Paul Langdon, winner of the 2012 Phillip H. Grogg Memorial Award.

No comments:

Post a Comment